„Good books, like good friends, are few and chosen; the more select, the more enjoyable.“

Zdroj: Tablets

Poslední aktualizace 22. května 2020. Historie
Amos Bronson Alcott foto
Amos Bronson Alcott2
americký učitel a spisovatel 1799 - 1888

Podobné citáty

„Books, like friends, should be few and well chosen.“

—  Samuel Paterson English bookseller and auctioneer 1728 - 1802

Joineriana: or The Book of Scraps (London: 1772), Vol. I, p. 40

Charles Caleb Colton foto
Henry Wotton foto
Mark Twain foto
Douglas William Jerrold foto

„A blessed companion is a book,—a book that fitly chosen is a life-long friend.“

—  Douglas William Jerrold English dramatist and writer 1803 - 1857

Books, reported in Bartlett's Familiar Quotations, 10th ed. (1919).

Thomas Jefferson foto
Martin Farquhar Tupper foto

„A good book is the best of friends, the same today and forever.“

—  Martin Farquhar Tupper English writer and poet 1810 - 1889

Of Reading.
Proverbial Philosophy (1838-1849)

Karen Marie Moning foto
Charles Darwin foto

„I think it can be shown that there is such an unerring power at work in Natural Selection (the title of my book), which selects exclusively for the good of each organic being.“

—  Charles Darwin British naturalist, author of "On the origin of species, by means of natural selection" 1809 - 1882

Darwin's first published expression of the concept of natural selection.
"On the Tendency of Species to form Varieties; and on the Perpetuation of Varieties and Species by Natural Means of Selection" Journal of the Proceedings of the Linnean Society of London: Zoology (read 1 July 1853; published 20 August 1858) volume 3, pages 45-62, at page 51 http://darwin-online.org.uk/content/frameset?pageseq=7&itemID=F350&viewtype=image
Other letters, notebooks, journal articles, recollected statements

André Maurois foto
Haruki Murakami foto
Walter Bagehot foto

„The reason why so few good books are written is, that so few people that can write know anything.“

—  Walter Bagehot British journalist, businessman, and essayist 1826 - 1877

Shakespeare
Literary Studies (1879)
Kontext: The reason why so few good books are written is, that so few people that can write know anything. In general an author has always lived in a room, has read books, has cultivated science, is acquainted with the style and sentiments of the best authors, but he is out of the way of employing his own eyes and ears. He has nothing to hear and nothing to see. His life is a vacuum.

Gabrielle Zevin foto
Stephen Chbosky foto
Immanuel Kant foto
René Descartes foto
James Branch Cabell foto
Megan Whalen Turner foto

„Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit. Etiam egestas wisi a erat. Morbi imperdiet, mauris ac auctor dictum.“